A Queen in Hiding | Sarah Kozloff | Review

“One must know the past, but never spend a moment regretting it.”

IMG_2851.jpg


RATING:

⭐️⭐️⭐️.5


SYNOPSIS:

Orphaned, exiled and hunted, Cérulia, Princess of Weirandale, must master the magic that is her birthright, become a ruthless guerrilla fighter, and transform into the queen she is destined to be.

But to do it she must win the favour of the spirits who play in mortal affairs, assemble an unlikely group of rebels, and wrest the throne from a corrupt aristocracy whose rot has spread throughout her kingdom.


REVIEW:

Firstly, I want to say thank you so much to Tor Books for sending me an early copy of this book, I really do appreciate the opportunity. This was sold to me as for fans of “Naomi Novik, Victoria Aveyard, Michael J. Sullivan, and Brent Weeks with potential crossover with readers of Kendare Blake, Sarah J. Maas and Kristin Cashore. As I am sure you can understand after reading those comparisons I knew I had to get my hands on this book. I was NOT disappointed. This book is a must read for 2020. This series is perfect for those who like to binge read series as all four books will be published within 4 months, that’s one book a month! This is such a good idea, spot on marketing and I already cannot wait for the second instalment.

A Queen in Hiding is a book by debut author Sarah Kozloff and man it was good! This book comes in at 463 pages, and can appear quite intimidating but don’t let that put you off. I devoured A Queen in Hiding within 2 sittings. With each chapter you read you are pulled into the plot deeper and deeper to the point of no return. It is so difficult to put down.

I loved the characters in this book, it was so easy to build up a relationship with them. Cerúlia is my favourite and I just found myself wanting to read more and more of her character. There are an abundance of characters and sometimes I did find myself getting confused, but there is a character list in the back which gives you a bit of background and definitely helps you to keep on track. If you utilise this then you will rarely find that you are lost. I am hoping that the next book provides us with further character development, especially in regards to some of the characters that I have learnt to love.

This was so action packed, every new chapter lead you to a new discovery, one of which you immediately wanted to know more about. I will say that I found some of the death scenes lacking depth and darkness. I’m one of a few people who love a graphic dragged out death scene, especially if it is a character that I have become connected with. Maybe this will progress more throughout the series?

 There is magic in this book, but it is not an overwhelming element. There is just enough to keep you satisfied but now to overwhelm and confuse you even more. I liked the A Queen in Hiding really just focused on the setting and the characters. I have a feeling the magic will come later on. I would like to add however that the magic parts are so complex and wonderful, I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know this system.

I definitely recommend that you pick this book up, especially those of you that are fans of epic fantasy and historical fiction with fantastical elements. I think this series is one to look out for this year.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s